Over 970 million voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Lok Sabha elections and will choose 543 representatives for the Lower House. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, who heads the quasi-judicial body, will be assisted by two Election Commissioners, Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu, in conducting the elections.

The poll authority aims to establish 10.5 lakh polling stations across the country, conducting the election in seven phases. Additionally, the poll body will oversee assembly elections in four states - Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim.

The election panel has pledged to conduct the national election in a manner that enhances India's reputation on the world stage. It expresses confidence in ensuring memorable, independent, and impartial polls after assessing all states.

With approximately 970 million registered voters, over 10.5 lakh polling stations set up across the country will be operated by 1.5 crore personnel, and 55 lakh EVMs will be utilised.

To date, the panel has successfully conducted 17 Lok Sabha elections, 16 Presidential elections, and more than 400 assembly elections. Of the 97.8 crore eligible voters, 49.72 crore were male, and 47.1 crore were female voters. The overall figure also includes 1.82 crore first-time voters.

It is worth noting that polling was conducted in seven phases in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls as well. At that time, there were a total of 91.2 crore eligible voters, comprising 43.8 crore female voters and about 47.3 crore male voters. During the polling, approximately 61.5 crore voters cast their votes, accounting for a 67.4 percent voter turnout. In the 2019 poll results, the Bharatiya Janata Party won 303 seats, the Indian National Congress 52, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 24, the All India Trinamool Congress 22, the BSP 10, the NCP 5, the CPI-M 3, and the CPI 2.

UT'S : 8
SEATS : 543
Phase 1
April 19
States - 21
Seats - 102
Phase 2
April 26
States - 13
Seats - 88
Phase 3
May 7
States - 11
Seats - 94
Phase 4
May 13
States - 10
Seats - 96
Phase 5
May 20
States - 8
Seats - 49
Phase 6
May 25
States - 8
Seats - 58
Phase 7
June 1
States - 8
Seats - 57
Note: Conduct of Poll in 29-Betul (ST) Parliamentary Constituency of Madhya Pradesh adjourned due to death of contesting candidate of Bahujan Samaj Party, a recognised National Party. The poll will be held on May 07 (3rd Phase)
, 2024 | seats
ETV Bharat Logo

Copyright © 2024 Ushodaya Enterprises Pvt. Ltd., All Rights Reserved.